Foolproof List for Understanding Gluten Free Foods
Sensitivities differ from person to person and ingredients differ from brand to brand. Always check the label's fine print. This is an abbreviated list of some common foods that are gluten free, foods they may have gluten and foods to avoid that contain gluten.
Gluten is a protein that is found in wheat, rye and barley. There are many reasons people avoid gluten. Celiac disease is the most serious. There are others who have a sensitivity to gluten and just feel better when they avoid it. Some people are allergic to wheat itself.
If you aren't sure how your body reacts to gluten, take it out of your diet for a week and see if any changes have occurred. Sometimes, in that short of a trial, say 5 days, you may notice an increase of energy and a more regular sugar level balance throughout the day as long as you are still taking in adequate nutrients. Juicing and eating lots of fruit and vegetables will make the change a bit more tolerable.
Here are a list of common foods people may avoid or incorporate into their new gluten free diet.
Gluten Free Foods:
cellophane noodles (bean thread noodles)
chickpea flour (garbanzo flour)
meat and poultry
rice, rice flour
soy, soy flour
vegetables (fresh, canned or frozen without sauce)
Foods that may contain Gluten (check ingredients)
frozen vegetables with sauce
oats- look for oats that were manufactured in a gluten-free facility)
Food that contain Gluten
commercial baked goods
gravies and sauces
malt, malt flavoring and malt vinegar